German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16,424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Maxwell has been on California Natural Lamb & Rice for about 4 years.
The vet always says he's the picture of health, and he doesn't have issues with bad poop or fecal samples coming back positive for parasites.
He's on Interceptor and Frontline Plus year round, with seemingly good results.

The problem is gas. He's always had it, but the past week or so it's BAD. I mean, room clearing bad & waking us up at night bad. Even Max leaves the room!

Should I try a teaspoon of low-fat yogurt in his meals, or could this be something more serious?
Other than the bad gas, he's seems happy & healthy!

Thanks,
Cindy

·
Registered
394 Posts
Have you fed him something different (or in addition) to his food lately? As they get older, like humans, I believe they do start developing more gas problems. I'm not an expert and I'm sure others will chime in with better answers, I hope but I always try to ask the vet and see what they say. My concern would be bloat. Please pay close attention. If he's passing gas, that's great. My concern is if one day he can't pass the gas. Not familiar with California Natural but are they grain free or what type of grains are in it? Maybe there is something there that could be giving him gas (or treats that you might be giving him)? Sorry I'm not much help but I just wanted to bring out the concern about bloat.

·
Registered
16,424 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
The bloat is a good thought. We do limit his water during eating, and try not to let him be too active right after. He's half Dobie so I know bloat is a concern. We haven't fed him anything different.

this is what we buy:

Ingredients California natural Lamb meal & rice adult kibble.

Click on an ingredient to learn more.

Lamb Meal

Brown Rice

Rice

Sunflower Oil

Natural Flavors
Natural flavors are flavor ingredients that do not contain synthetic or artificial components.