German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I really dont know what should i get btw german shephard or mali..i am a musician and i travel alot so i would like a dog that its good family protection dog..pls no stupid and sarcatic answers i just need ur help.
Thanx

·
Registered
4,119 Posts
Well, gee, being a smart-alec yourself is going to get tons of people to be helpful!

If you'd like people's help I think you need to provide a LOT more information. You've provided virutally no info about your lifestyle other than you are "a musician and trael alot."

How much time a day do you have to commit to giving the dog a workout--both physically and mentally?

What are your plans with the dog? JUST family protection? Agility? ScHH? Flyball?

What exactly do you plan to do with the dog when you are out of town all the time? Doggy day care center? Relative will be at home? A friend watching?

What's your family situation? Live alone? Married? Kids?

What do you want out of your dog other than family protection and what training are you planning on putting in for the "family protection" aspect? Just that having a GSD or Mal around will deter people or do you want it trained as a PPD?

·
Registered
30,384 Posts
I think if you are on the road alot then you really need to research these breed better. Talk to reputable breeders and explain what you want.

These dogs need exercise, they need to be with their families, they need a job.

Do you want a highly trained dog? Do you want a deterant? Are you willing to deal with the civil responsibilities and liabilities that come with having a PPD trained dog?

What will you do with the dog if you find it does not have the drive for protection? Not all dogs are meant for that kind of work.

Do you want a puppy or an already fully grown trained dog?

If the dog has a high drive for protection, are you capable of handling a high drive dog and being a leader?