German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good afternoon!
I am new to owning a GSD. I just bought a GSD and she cost me $1900. The vet I took her to said she’s extremely roach backed and will have problems down the line for sure. She’s only 10 weeks old! PLEASE HELP ME!!! Any tips, advice, or thoughts? Please take a look at her and tell me if she’s ok!!!

Attachments

·
Registered
6,428 Posts
I used to have a Borzoi with a roached back. He never had any problems.

Reactions: tim_s_adams

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Omg thank you so much!! Is it from overbreeding or is this how they want their dogs to look?

·
Registered
58 Posts
Don't freak out. Roach/straight back are words thrown around, the meaning of which confuses me. At 1900 for a pup I would expect the parents to be hip scored by x-ray?

Your pup is very cute ❤

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Don't freak out. Roach/straight back are words thrown around, the meaning of which confuses me. At 1900 for a pup I would expect the parents to be hip scored by x-ray?

Your pup is very cute ❤
Thank you! I spent way too much for her...

·
Registered
5,602 Posts
Is she a purebred? One of my rescues had a crooked spine and it did not affect his activity level or health. It wasn’t a true roach, but may have been caused by poor growth due to being confined and tied up as a puppy. You aren’t going to show or breed the dog. After a while, the dog will become so important to you, the cost won’t matter. Many of us paid a lot for our dogs.

·
Registered
578 Posts
Your vet needs to brush up on his anatomy. Your pup's back is actually straight. The back is the part from the withers to where it starts to slant downward. Where it slants is the loin and then the hip. And no, this should not cause any problems later.

Also this is a very young pup. A lot can change as she grows.

For me, I would be looking for a better vet.

·
Registered
12 Posts