German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Since I started playing find it with my puppy I noticed some changes:

• First he seemed much calmer and relaxed and appeared much stiller when sleeping
  • Then he started sniffing a lot more on walks.
  • Then the entire walk became about following trails. Sniffing the entire time (almost a whole hour). In recent times he keeps following trails to dead animals (squirrels etc) or food. Or at times of people who have left an article behind in a park (jacket etc).
  • He now not only follows trails on the ground, but sometimes tries to sniff things out in the air to follow during walks.
  • Lately he seems to sleep longer and even more stiller. <--This is what I am worrying about. He is still alert enough to wake up to the slightest sound, such as persons in the lift lobby, and is ready to bark at full volume unless I acknowledge immediately (he stops then) - so his alertness is normal. Its just that he is so calm and still, and is in no rush to get up from a nap. But at the same time he is ready for walks and responsive. Excited about walks.
  • His mood seems ok - he is happy. He is affectionate and friendly to persons and dogs alike. At night he sleeps next to me and rests his head on me. He seems to lick me more nowadays since I started cooking and paying more attention to enrichment.
  • He is responsive to commands, unless there is a high value distraction. (requires more effort than usual then)
  • He is ready to play and initiates play
  • His appetite is ok. He is excited at meal times, and seems to always want more.
  • His body condition seems to be a 5. I used to think maybe 6, but after looking closely he seems to be a 5.
  • He sleeps about 16 hours a day: 4 + 2 + 10 (morning, afternoon, night0
  • He walks and runs normally