German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just moved into a new house and Lexi has already dug 6-9 massive holes. The landlords aren't too pleased and I was wondering how to get her to stop digging.

·
Registered
3,116 Posts
Is she an inside/outside dog? My shepherd dug holes when we first got him until we starting letting him come in the house so he is half and half now and has not dug a hole since. If she is trying to get cool then get a kiddie pool for her. I have also used cayenne pepper sprinkled in a hole too if the dog smells the ground before it digs. You need to find out why she is digging and go from there. I had a dalmatian that tore up our yard digging so I have some experience with this.

·
Registered
972 Posts
my dogs dig holes to no end! i cant leave them outside for more then 10 min. i tried some no dig stuff, don't waste your money it doesn't work.

·
Premium Member
27,460 Posts
Keep her in the house.
Truthfully, I always love an answer that gives an immediate 100% solution, and that one does.

If she's in the yard, you are in the yard so you can TEACH her to not dig. If you go in the house, so does your dog.

If you leave a bored pup alone in the yard, you are TEACHING her alot of bad behaviors. Digging. Barking uncontrollably. Escaping?

·
Registered
216 Posts
Put a little of the dogs poo in the hole and cover it up. That will stop them there in that hole and then training.

·
Registered
626 Posts
Put a little of the dogs poo in the hole and cover it up. That will stop them there in that hole and then training.
I've always heard this will work but never tried it myself ... :confused:

·
Registered
19,157 Posts