German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi experienced Nosework trainers! How do you end a search that is obviously going to be unsuccessful for many reasons, hide set up too hard, unexpected distractions, dog is disengaging, takes way too long etc. In tracking, I would have an extra article and would throw it on the track without my dog seeing it so every search was always successful. It really helped to develop a very strong work ethic. How should I approach this in Nosework? The instructor in the class just said to throw a cookie and praise the dog since he tried, and that's it because the dog will forget anyway.

I started learning Nosework by taking an online classes, I love it but of course I'm making all the mistakes possible... Thank you for your advice!

·
Super Moderator
6,106 Posts
I would use a drop hide and pay the dog, just like in the real world. I wouldn't pay the dog for nothing.

Running a bomb dog, you have a lot of blank searches. I pay the dog intermittently to keep them in the game.

·
Registered
2,267 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
David, thank you, it makes sense! I was also not liking the idea to just give a cookie for nothing... I haven't got to the blank searches yet but just started doing exterior and sometimes the search just doesn't go as well as planned.
What is a 'drop hide'? How to do it with a oil scent? Should I have a scented tin in a box on me and then take it and put it on the ground?

·
Super Moderator
6,106 Posts
David, thank you, it makes sense! I was also not liking the idea to just give a cookie for nothing... I haven't got to the blank searches yet but just started doing exterior and sometimes the search just doesn't go as well as planned.
What is a 'drop hide'? How to do it with a oil scent? Should I have a scented tin in a box on me and then take it and put it on the ground?