German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have mentioned in other threads that I'm a pretty bad dog trainer with a smart dog...
and I'm stuck on teaching a simple thing!

Rumo's arthritis has been progressing a bit, and he's been hesitant about going up and down the steep steps to the deck. (Deck is on same level with house, and is the only way to come in from backyard). So we got out the wooden ramp we made (from his bloat surgery) and put it back over the steps again. It's wide, sturdy, covered with nonskid material, and has a shallow slope of about 15 degrees (my daughter used trigonometry to calculate it out! :)

So during his surgery recovery, he was always led slowly up and down the ramp on leash (he was not allowed to walk much). Now I am teaching him to use the ramp without leash. At first he didn't want to get on it, but I stood beside the ramp, led him up it with bits of kibble, and gave a few more kibbles at top. Now I'm at the point where if I am standing by the ramp, I can just do the "lead dog up the ramp" hand gesture, and he'll walk up it. But he will never go up the ramp without the hand gesture!!! Instead, if he goes out to pee and then wants to come back in from the backyard, he stands patiently at the bottom of the ramp and waits and waits for me to notice him. Then I have to (sigh) go outside, stand beside the ramp, and make the hand gesture, and then he'll come up!

How do I teach him that he can use the ramp to go up and down by himself, whenever he wants?
i.e. no command, leash, or hand gesture - I just want him to use the ramp the same way he used the steps!

I've tried walking up and down, up and down the ramp myself, and he watches me with amusement but still...will never use it by himself...agh.
Thanks for any ideas...

·
Registered
2,292 Posts
You could try pairing the hand signal with a new verbal command, and then gradually phase out the hand signal. :)

·
Registered