German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello, im totally new to dog world :D , i have a cute 4 months gsd female and 2 weeks ago i posted her pic in some forum, the comments were that she has hip displasia :eek: so my question is can u diagnose hip displasia just from the look of her legs or how she sit?:confused:

·
Registered
58 Posts
Let me start by saying that I'm no expert, but want to say that many people say my dog has hip or leg problems due to the typical, angular shape for this breed. People who don't know GSD often mistake hip problems with the sometimes extreme rear angles or silly way the pups sit on their bottoms. I believe that only an x-ray could provide the data needed to diagnose hip disp.

·
Premium Member
21,368 Posts
the only way to truly tell if a dog has HD and the level of it, is xrays..A 4mth old puppy is "sloppy" anyway, I wouldn't panic about it at this point..

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
well

it runs like a bunny, sits like a frog and here some pics of her..
if it cant be diagnosed unless by x-ray, should i do her an xray or just forget about it untill she grows
and if she already has it, can it be treated?

Attachments

·
Premium Member
27,460 Posts
Those photos look like a 100% normal puppy. Only video MAYBE would tell us more.

The reason we pay and go to a responsible breeder is exactly for situations like this. Did the parent dogs have good hips/xrays? How are the littermates doing? What does your breeder say?

:)

·
Registered
19,451 Posts
You'd need to get x-rays, that is how hip dysplasia is diagnosed or ruled out.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Those photos look like a 100% normal puppy. Only video MAYBE would tell us more.

The reason we pay and go to a responsible breeder is exactly for situations like this. Did the parent dogs have good hips/xrays? How are the littermates doing? What does your breeder say?

:)