German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My dog is a 4.5 month old female. We have successfully completed puppy kindergarten where she did well but was obviously nervous. I have taken her out near people and have maintained a level of training and expectation. I noticed that she was developing a fear reaction of lunging and barking especially at men (strangers). I called a private behaviorist and have an appt. For this coming Thursday. THE PROBLEM....today she actually barked, lunged and bit. Please before we get into bloodline and all that....I am new to this breed and maybe didn't ask all the right questions but that being said I am a good and responsible pet owner. I love my dog. But...I cant. Take a r idk that she will harm someone. Is this problem fixable or should I be looking for a new home for her or God forbid....should she be put down? My heart is breaking.

·
Banned
5,219 Posts
Too soon to tell if it is fixable. It probably is but wait for the behaviorist. Anyone here would only make a guess, if at all.

·
Registered
30,372 Posts
NO..she should not be put down...she's still a baby!

Wait for the behaviorist. Did you get good references for this person? Experience? Make sure that it is a positive based trainer. No alpha rolls, yank and crank methods.

Ask about LAT, BAT theories. I think she's probably a bit fearful and then going through one of the fear stages on top of that.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What is LAT BAT? The behaviorist believes in positive reinforcement although no clicker. She comes very recommended. Also, the dog shows no alpha dog tendency, no guarding food or toys etc. She is submissive to 7 lb Pomeranian. Loves the kids and tolerates anything the do. She doesn't even have landshark behavior anymore. I just don't want her to hurt someone because she is afraid.

·
Registered
30,372 Posts