German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We just got back from taking my 8.5 year girl to the er vet-she has bloat. We take every precaution we have read about, and she still got it. I am a wreck waiting for that phone call. Vet said I caught it early-and it saved her life. But, I am still a wreck.. Any suggestions -advice or just prayers please...

·
Registered
397 Posts
oh my god I am so sorry. Im so happy they say you got her there in time. Im definitely thinking of you all *hugs* what were her symptoms? I have never dealt with bloat but it scares the heck out of me.

·
Registered
2,951 Posts
Oh no I am so sorry. I haven't dealt with bloat with any of my animals but as a vet tech I saw a lab, GSD, and a mixed breed all come in with bloat. The one that caught it early had a successful surgery though they experienced some infection after the fact. The other two sadly didn't make it, but again their owners had no clue what was happening until it was too late. Good job catching it and getting help fast- I hope all goes well and your pup is home in no time:)

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·