German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm gonna get myself a GSD pup real soon.

I, for one, do not believe that pups should spend their first night outside of its new home. However, I'm afraid that the pup will make a mess indoors... My parents won't allow that... I don't have the heart to chuck the pup outside and spend its first night there either... What am I to do? He's still too young to be toilet-trained...

·
Registered
158 Posts
I'm new to GSDs, but I just introduced one to my home. I put him down and let him learn the place on his own pace. He is going to have accidents the first few days! I hope you have a crate, they are a lifesaver.

·
Registered
14,344 Posts
IMO dogs should always be inside at night.

Your puppy will need a crate.

Crate the puppy at night so he/she cant potty around the house or get into something that could harm him/her.

·
Registered
627 Posts
Freyja has slept in my bed from day one. For the first couple of weeks she had a nest made out of old blankets on top of puppy pads. After 2 weeks of her not having an accident in the bed she got to sleep on the pillow next to me. Don't forget that puppies need to go out several times a night. Our schedule was in bed by 10, and potty breaks at 1AM and 4AM.

·
Registered
275 Posts
Coming from someone who has been wanting a puppy for about 16 yrs, and done tons of research, here are a few tips

1) Don't keep the puppy outside, this should seem painfully obvious
2) Puppies are babies, all babies have tiny bladders and therefore puppies need to be let out every 3-4 hrs, EVEN AT NIGHT (one of the reasons why i've waited to get a puppy, since i literally fall into a dead sleep at night)
3)Puppies WILL make the occasional mistake indoors and if your parents can't handle the occasional pee puddle, it's gonna be hard on you and the puppy for the first few weeks at least