German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. This is my first time owning a dog. I've had him since he was 9 weeks, he currently just turned 10 months. He was big on nipping, and biting when he was much younger then he stopped and now he's back at it. He bites me when I come through the door and I don't pay him attention right away, he does it when I'm walking him and I stop and talk to my neighbors, and he does it when I'm home and he wants to play. I have tried everything that I have read in these forums and online. I have screamed "ouch" and that makes him pause for one second and then he bites again less hard but continues. I spray him and nothing happens. I leave the room and then he resumes after I come back. I give him time out and he jumps up and down and doesn't listen and thinks it's a game. I ignore him and this frustrates him as he makes this noise and pulls my sleeve harder or bite harder as if to say why aren't you paying attention to me. I have no idea what else to try. It's getting to the point where I'm loosing my patient and I'm getting really frustrated. Please help!!!!

·
Super Moderator
6,296 Posts
I will try to help.Sounds like the loud OUCH is getting somewhat of a response.Does he have a "leave it" or "drop it" command?If not,teach one!How about "NO"?
Get his attention with a sharply spoken command of your choice,then give him something else to do immediately.A sit/stay or down/stay.Release him for a short game of tug or fetch for his reward when he's calm.He only gets to play when he listens to you.If he puts his teeth on you the whole procedure starts again.

If the initial command isn't enough to get his focus,keep a short drag leash on him(no loop)and give a firm leash pop along with the command.Firm enough to get his attention,not a light tug to nag him or amp him up further.