German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My lifelong dream is to have a German Shepherd, and I'm finally in the place where I can make it happen. I'm looking for a great family companion dog, but unfortunately I'm working with a budget. Looking to spend $700-$1200. My biggest concern is great temperament, followed closely by the living conditions for the dogs being bred. The last thing I want to do is support a breeder who's indiscriminately churning out puppies or treating their dogs poorly. Any recommendations of solid breeders that work within my budget? I've spent hours researching online, but I'm a total newbie at this whole thing. I'm willing to drive anywhere in Indiana, or even into Michigan, Illinois, Kentucky, or Ohio. Thanks in advance for any advice!

·
Banned
311 Posts
My lifelong dream is to have a German Shepherd, and I'm finally in the place where I can make it happen. I'm looking for a great family companion dog, but unfortunately I'm working with a budget. Looking to spend $700-$1200. My biggest concern is great temperament, followed closely by the living conditions for the dogs being bred. The last thing I want to do is support a breeder who's indiscriminately churning out puppies or treating their dogs poorly. Any recommendations of solid breeders that work within my budget? I've spent hours researching online, but I'm a total newbie at this whole thing. I'm willing to drive anywhere in Indiana, or even into Michigan, Illinois, Kentucky, or Ohio. Thanks in advance for any advice!
Selzer is a member here who breeds and has nice dogs. Not sure of her price range but it would not hurt to ask her.

·
Registered
27,239 Posts
while you are researching, please try to save a bit more $ so you will be in the price-point of a responsible breeder. Many who take shortcuts don't charge what breeders that invest in health, training, and titling.