German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to german shepherds, and am no dog expert by any means. My wife and I were given what we were told was a purebred german shepherd puppy (7 weeks old). Again, I'm no dog expert, but I've seen GSD puppies before, and this looked like one to me at the time.

After we got home with him I started researching them more, and now I'm starting to think maybe he is a belgian malinois. At 7 weeks old, he was 9 pounds. He is now 9 weeks old and 11 pounds. I've read that a GSD should be around 20-25 pounds by now. What do you guys think? Can you tell by looking?

·
Registered
19,157 Posts
where did you read they were supposed to be so much by a certain age?!?!

my current pup is 12 weeks old purebred from a reputable breeder. at his last vet check he was just under 13 lbs. don't follow the charts you find. there's no set weight chart for pups, just like with kids and people. Each one is different and it depends on their lineage as well.

As for your pup, he's not a malinois and I would only venture to say he's MAYBE a GSD mix. Hard to tell for sure at this age but I am confident in saying that's no malinois.

adorable pup no matter what.

·
Registered
1,790 Posts
Not sure about the mixture but he is so tiny and cute and makes the perfect snuggle buddy right now, congrats...

·
Registered
169 Posts
So cute! Too soon to make a call. We adopted from a shelter and thought we had a sable GSD but pretty sure we ended up with a Mal, so I'm quite familiar with the guessing game. Time will tell.... Have fun with him!

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks everyone! Here is an updated pic from this morning. 9-1/2 weeks old & 13 lbs. He is pretty stinkin cute.

We named him Teal'c. Sci-Fi nerds will understand...

·
Registered
2,478 Posts
He's very cute!

He looks like he might turn out to be like Ossie: