German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello from Ontario, Canada!

I'm happy to be joining this community! I am a rookie when it comes to GSD/working dogs so I have a lot to learn! I have 2 rescues I adopted as adult dogs.

Taiga - fawn GSD mix
He is an amazing hiking and backcountry camping partner, excellent with people, kids, and cats.
He has one major vice that he came with when I adopted him-- major dog reactivity. I've been working for 3 years now on his dog reactivity. But other than that he is seriously the sweetest, chillest GSD mix. He is happiest when we are out hiking.

Basha - Belgian Malinois (she might be a mix, but I've had mal breeders and working dog trainers say she is full mal, so who knows)
She is like Jekyll and hyde. Super moochy cuddlebug extreme at home, but out 'in the field' she becomes a high-drive intense land shark. I'm still learning how to manage the intensity of this breed! I've had her for just about 2 years now. First year I had her, she was recovering from TPLO surgery so the 'land shark' side didn't come out for the first year.

·
Registered
2,052 Posts
Welcome! That looks like Killarney (or at least the La Cloche area) in some of your pictures!

·
Registered
2,052 Posts
Thank you! And yes, its totally Killarney! This was on a fall hike up to The Crack, and then beyond for some backcountry camping. Good eye!
I have been there many a time! In fact my dog Luc (since passed on) was the first recorded dog to do the whole trail in 2 days :) Fall in the La Cloche is beautiful!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have been there many a time! In fact my dog Luc (since passed on) was the first recorded dog to do the whole trail in 2 days :) Fall in the La Cloche is beautiful!