German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello - we are new to this board, so I will give some background on us, as a family:)
Kayden is a 4 year old female GS/LAB dog. In her puppy years, we would take her to work with us daily (i worked as a nanny for a family out in the country with 2 other dogs) Along with coming to work with us, we would socialize her daily either at dog parks, beaches or friends houses with other dogs. Either way, her first 3 years were pretty "free" in behavior and very rarely was she leased, she is excellet off leash and is very well voice controlled. I trail run her off lease and Justin mountain bikes with her off lease and her loyalty keeps her right by us (sometimes I even trip over her). Justin and myself had labs before hand and b/c she is a lab mix - we raised her in the same manner (allowed on funiture and such). As she grew older, her behavior began to become more and more "attentive" and "sucipisious" of other dogs. Within this past year, she has gotten into 3 dog fights and b/c she only seems to have aggression towards the dogs that are smaller and louder, she tends to "win" and causes a bite mark. This year has been tough for her, its like her anxiety has gone through the roof. Every noise she hears, she reacts...
Right after her first dog fight, we found a dog behaviorist who specilizes in GS. We have meet with him 3 or 4 times, attended a obidence and argility classes and she does great with him and within the class. Once she is comfortable with a situation or a dog - her aggression decreases. Its the first initatial interaction that can either go good or bad.