German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is a good harness that clicks into the seat belt (back seat) for safety if you aren't able to crate in your car?

·
Registered
262 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
I've been using this one in my tiny subcompact for about 9 months: Clickit Sport - Sleepypod® | The safest pet company | Dog Carrier | Cat Carrier | Dog Harness. It restricts movement ALOT but I think it's pretty widely regarded as one of the safer ones. It is pretty expensive, ~$80. It honestly had a very steep learning curve for my dog and I. He liked to move around in the back seat a lot. With this harness on he can lie down in the seat and sit up and look out the window (tiny car though). He can't turn around or he gets tangled.

The tangling was a big issue. It took a while for him to learn he could only sit up and down in one position. I had to pull over on the road and untangle him many times. He whined about having to be in the harness a lot. We've gotten to a point now where he's comfortable in it and can fall asleep now.

Also, depending on the size of your dog and the length of your car's seatbelt it's possible the seatbelt might not be long enough to loop through the harness. I think my dog is somewhere near the limit of having a long enough seatbelt to loop through the harness effectively. I bought one of these https://www.seatbeltextenderpros.com/ for ~$30 but I haven't been using it lately.

·
Registered
855 Posts
If you want something actually crash tested, I recommend the following three:

- Clickit Sport by Sleepypod (as linked above)
- Enhanced Strength Tru-Fit Harness by Kurgo
- Load Up Harness by Ruffwear