German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, this happened a few minutes ago, and I decided to sign up here and get to the bottom of it.
I was trying to fall asleep on my couch, with my GSD Kasper.
Kasper is almost two years old, 104 pounds, and I have had him since he was two months.
I was laying down and repositioned, and I looked over my shoulder to ask Kasper to move his paw, and I gently touched it. He then growled at me and bit at my leg as a warning, so I immediately jumped off the couch as did he. He walked away and is now sleeping outside my door.
Any ideas why my best friend of two years would do that?
:help:

·
Registered
4,828 Posts
It's possible that he's hurting or more likely he's deciding to assert his dominance over you. The fact that you did nothing about it except watch him walk away makes me think the second option and this has been building for a while.

·
Registered
4,135 Posts
I'm no expert, but I think that by going away, you reinforced his behavior. He wanted you to go away and leave him alone, and that's exactly what you did.

You might want to start implementing NILIF (nothing in life is free), because this could possibly escalate....

As I said, I'm not an expert, so take my advice with a grain of salt and wait for the more seasoned members to come along. I'm glad that you didn't get hurt, though.

Oh, and welcome to the boards! How unfortunate that this has to be your first post, though. :(

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Seeing how I am fifteen, and Live with my parents, my Dad has alway been the disciplinarian.
I have however had this happen before, in other areas, and held him down until he showed submission, but in this case, the positioning of him and I was a sure fire way to being bitten.
He has bitten my brother on another occasion, but it is irrelevant.
I don't want to make him sound bad, as this is my first post with him.