German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a question for everyone, we recently rescued what we were told is a male German Shepherd who just turned 7 months. We have owned purebreds before and have a lot of experience with them. This guys ears are still down and the previous owner said they have always been down but swears he is a purebred and that she saw his parents (However if I’m being honest you can tell this poor boy was not taken care of at all. I think he was kept outside his whole life because his skin is burnt and he has some bald patches and very dry irritated skin. He is being taken care of here, very loved and spoiled! My question is this, with his ears down it makes me think he may be a mix (which is totally fine! ) What do you guys think... Purebred or a mix? Do you think his ears might still stand? He is long haired, by the way. Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
225 Posts
I'm not an expert but he looks purebred to me. If I'm not mistaken if dogs with weak ear cartilage are bred the pups will have weaker ears.

·
Registered
1,433 Posts
I don't know if he is mixed. Part of me thinks he is. At this point, I doubt those ears will come up. They don't look even close, and if they have never been up before, there isn't much hope. I am glad he has a good home now though.

·
Registered
6,073 Posts
He has a very kind face. I'm happy to hear he's in a good home now. Enjoy him!

I agree, at 7 months I think the ship has sailed for the ears to go up. It is what it is.

·
Super Moderator
6,707 Posts
My wild guess is 1/4 collie and 3/4 gsd.Those ears will stay down I think.He is a good looking boy no matter!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thank you everyone for your opinions, we of course love him regardless of whether he is a purebred or not and regardless of what his ears decide to do. We were just curious to see what others had to say. ?

·
Registered
1,006 Posts