German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m posting some better pics of my pup to get opinions again. He is about 13 weeks but his head and nose seem so small compared to other GSD pups. Could he possibly be a mix?

Attachments

·
Registered
587 Posts
Do a DNA test if it really means that much to you. $79 bucks I think for Wisdom. No one here can definitively tell you from these pictures. My first guess is he is not 100% GSD, mostly but now 100%.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies. I’m not really looking for answers on whether anyone can tell me if he is purebred, just curious of others opinions on what he looks like or if some take more time to fill out than others. I am new to the breed. But we love him no matter what 🙂

·
Registered
457 Posts
Those ears certainly look GSD! Puppy's parts grow at different rates and at different times. One week the legs look too long or too short, the next the back looks out of proportion. That nose that seems too short to you today could look too long next week.

As others have said, if you don't have registration papers, the only way to know for sure is a DNA test.

Cute pup. I'm glad you are happy with him, no matter what he turns out to be.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I’m not worried! Lol just curious and interested to know what others think he might or might not be mixed with. 🙂

·
Super Moderator
6,283 Posts
often times members will continue to add additional / updated photos to their existing threads... for comparison, to track progress, change in opinions, etc. feel free to do the same, and welcome! :)

·
Registered
5,527 Posts
I don't see anything unusual about this puppy's head. His color is awesome. If the other puppies you are seeing have bigger, boxier heads, I would be questioning the purity of their pups.

·
Registered
2,098 Posts