German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's my dilemma. I am a college student, and I own a German Shepherd who is highly loyal and attached to me. He's great. But I know they can sometimes suffer from "separation anxiety." My parents can definitely tell a difference in him when I'm gone, and I can sense a depressive mood in him when I'm about to leave home. This also happens when I don't bring bags/suitcases home - he knows I'm not staying long. He mopes around, and isn't very active. I recently found out that I may be transferring further away from my hometown, several hours. However, my question is about what is healthier for him:

1) Take him with me when I move, so that he is not separated from his owner. However, he'd be separated from our Jack Russell Terrier, my family, and a big yard. Would a new place with less room be too much stress?

2) Leave him with my parents in a place he knows and is used to, going months on end without being reunited with me, his owner.

Leaving him would even be hard for me, but I'm just concerned about his health too.

-Bekah

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
Take him with you. He would live in a cardboard box to be with you. The other dog, your parents and huge yard are not enough of a substitute for you. If it was, he would be just fine when you leave. He wants you!

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
766 Posts
Its surprising how dogs adapt :) it takes time and patience but it's all about sticking with it I think. And there's crate training as well as a just in case.

·
Registered
1,373 Posts
We have a small apartment (I'm a college student too) and my gsd would probably be happier here than in a huge house, she likes to be in the same room.

Take him with you, he probably wouldnt want it any other way

·
Registered
2,892 Posts