German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, recently I've been playing with my German Shepherd and whenever the toy is free on the floor and I go for it and try to get it while she is trying to bite it, she growls.

Is this normal? How would I correct this situation? She recently just started all this a couple days ago.

Also, when we're playing with her, she seems to jump and snap at our hands, arms and ankles. I thought it was because she is still teething and she recently just grew her Adult teeth in the back so now I'm wondering is she just mouthing because she is hurting or just hyper? I gave her rawhide bones to chew on so I don't know if that's helping her teething.

She is 6 months old and has all her shots to date and yes we exercise daily for about 35 mins.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Hello Roger

I am no expert but one thing I am sure of is adult teeth do not equal adult brain.

She is still a puppy and playing with you (and very probably testing you)
just like a puppy.

I tell mine that whatever she has it's mine and I will share if I choose. Of course there is lots of sharing because it's fun for both of us. I would remove the toy, wait a bit and replace it with another. Could be the wrong move though, there are lots of people here with far more experience than I have.

Might not be enough exercise for her either, 35 mins a day isn't very much. Variety is important too, same thing day after day is boring for us and boring for them.

·
Super Moderator
16,941 Posts