German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Good morning everyone. Although I don't have my puppy quite yet (on a waiting list for an upcoming litter) I figured I would drop in and say hello. I'm working with Blackthorn in Barboursville, VA and, provided the upcoming litter lines up with what I'm looking for, I should have a new puppy in mid April.

I'm an avid runner and OCR athlete and I serve as an ambassador for one of the major OCR companies. Ideally, I'm looking for a running companion and a dog that can work in an emotional support capacity. It is very common for new runners to feel overwhelmed at races and a friendly dog cheers everyone up. Needless to say, I'm looking for a dog with high endurance who is also very comfortable with lots of human contact.

I've had a GSD mix in the past but this will be my first pure-bred shepherd. My GSD mix was a stray rescue from Colorado so I have some experience with training, but I know my new guy will be a completely different ball game. I'm head-over-heels excited and appropriately nervous.

·
Registered
1,269 Posts
Welcome!

OK, OCR is Obstacle Course Racing and not Optical Character Recognition, I guess!
So you are the human version of an agility dog...cool! :)

Congratulations on the impending puppy - Exciting!

On the "lots of human contact" - there, you may find that your GSD is not as friendly to strangers as you would like?
But you can mention to breeder...

·
Registered
580 Posts
I also agree that if all the human contact is a must, you may want to go with a little different of a breed

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·