German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
21,368 Posts
walmart, altho I use MSM w/glucosamine no chondroitan, the chondroitan used to give my older girl an upset stomache

·
Premium Member
751 Posts
Study was on humans.

I don't think there is a placebo effect for dogs either. If I give my dog a supplement with glucosamine & chondroitin in it and I can see my dog does better on it then I will use that product.

·
Registered
470 Posts
I think it works. When my Lugar was living and was dealing with arthritis from an ACL injury that happened when he was 5, I had a vet in Hawaii who gave him a shot of Glucosamine/Chrondroitin for a few weeks when his knee would flair up. It really made a difference with him. That vet told me they give that same shot to horses. (?)

I am no expert but it works for me, too! I am 52 and I have been running 15-20 miles plus per week since I was 13 and I take it daily. Can't complain about any arthritis, knee injuries, etc. here. :)

·
Registered
2,247 Posts
Cosamin DS at Costco.

·
Registered
6,912 Posts
I use cosequin DS as a glucosamine supplement... well, lucy uses it. I always get it from entirelypets.com. They seem to have the best prices on the internet that I can find.

·
Registered
1,845 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I have been using the trader joes product. It has 250mg glucosamine and 200mg chondroiten. it is $10 for 100 tablets. I think it is a good deal and will continue to use it. I noticed a difference in her joints, she has fewer limping episodes since I have had her on it. Of course, I have her lyme disease in check too, which is helping a great deal.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I use this one by naturvet- but to be honest they have so many different types of glucosamine-condroitin/MSM that I am not sure if I am buying the best for my aging molly.

Senior Hip and Joint Tablets (40) - Joint Health - NaturVet for Dogs and Cats natural dogs