German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
525 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I got Ammo's agitation harness in today, so tomorrow we will be able to work on speak without choking him out. Everything I have read says to "tease" him with something he really likes, I'm thinking flirt pole, until he speaks and then let him have it. I've never tried to train the speak command before so I'm not 100% sure I'm doing it correctly.

Any advice or ideas would be appreciated very much?

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
1,994 Posts
*sigh*, thats what I have been doing, I back tie him, and tease the crap out of him with his *FAVORITE* toy on the flirt pole. Alas, no bark. He makes every noise BUT a bark. Whines, squeaks, opens his mouth like he is GOING to bark....good luck! It is frustrating! Especially since I cannot get mine to shut up every other time :D

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
I used bacon. Fiona started barking real quick. But bacon was like my third attempt. I probably barked at her 200 times to get her to bark.

·
Registered
4,135 Posts
Maybe not quite the advice you're looking for, but the one thing Ozzy barks like a maniac at is the air horn. I found this out completely on accident.
I went to scare my mom with an air horn I found, and I blew it, and he started going NUTS.

Then I let a little bit of air out of it (so it was just air, not the actual loud noise the air horn makes), and yeah. He was going nuts. And it wasn't like an, "Omg, that thing is terrifying," kind of barking. It was an, "I'M GOING TO END THAT THING'S LIFE," kind of barking. LOL
He wasn't afraid of it at all. He wanted to kill it, and he wanted to have a lot of fun doing it.

·
Registered
19,157 Posts