German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am very new to the whole dog keeping thing and was wondering how difficult it is to keep a German shepherd as a pet ? Where can i find more info ?

I have some basic questions like ? :

1) Which is better ? to get a puppy or a young dog ?
2) Do we need to have medical insurance ?
3) What is a rough expenditure i am looking at per month ?
4) What other responsibilities come into picture apart from basics like taking good care of the dog ?
5) What change you see in your life without a dog and with the dog as a pet ? :)

Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
1,574 Posts
A german shepherd is not a good choice for a first time or even novice dog owner, imo. They are a total handful, much more so than most other breeds. I suggest you do some serious research on them and be very honest with yourself about what you truly can do/handle and not. I state all that because you seem a little new at this based on your questions. It's a much better match to get a less demanding and intense dog, if I'm right about where you are in experience. Do your due diligence, be honest with yourself and seriously maybe consider an easier dog to raise, like nice hound breed. Personally, I high;y recommend Rhodesian Ridgebacks. They have the size and some of the smarts of a GSD, but they are much more easy going. They are also very protective, loyal, strong and great looking... all the stuff you may be looking for. Just be careful and do the right thing. I'm personally very glad that I had the years of experience with other large breeds before I got a GSD.

·
Registered
6,859 Posts
My family is a first time GSD owner, well my mom had one when she was younger. We had Sheltie Mixes before. But we researched the breed to see what we were getting into.