German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently had a trainer recommend a gentle leader for my GSD. I went to the store this morning to find numerous different makes and models. Is there a difference? What should I use? I am new to using this training tool, so I thought maybe some people with more experience could give me some ideas.

Thanks,
Karen NE. PA

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
We have not used any head harnesses so I can't help you with those. We do use the Easy Walk by Gentle Leader and we think they are great. I like the fact that the control point is in front of the chest, not the neck or head. The dogs do respond to them and even if they are in high prey drive (passing squirrel?), they can be controlled.

·
Registered
5,346 Posts
IMO, and not trying to be rude................. but I think that all those so called "gentle leader" type leads are just a lazy way of getting out of real dog training!

A properly trained dog, yes EVEN A GSD, can walk with out pulling on a regular leash!!!!

If your TRAINER
is recommending this type of lead, I would find myself a different trainer!!!!

·
Registered
2,184 Posts
Originally Posted By: AniadoubleIMO, and not trying to be rude................. but I think that all those so called "gentle leader" type leads are just a lazy way of getting out of real dog training!

A properly trained dog, yes EVEN A GSD, can walk with out pulling on a regular leash!!!!

If your TRAINER
is recommending this type of lead, I would find myself a different trainer!!!!
While the Gentle Leader isn't a substitute for training your dog to walk on a leash, there are times when my dog spots a deer or squirrel and forgets - the GL sure helps with control in those cases and I feel more comfortable when she is wearing a GL or a prong collar.

·
Registered
5,346 Posts
Originally Posted By: MayzieGSD