German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,
I live in Northern California and we're having some real concern with the dreaded "West Nile virus" you may have heard of. The mosquitos carrying this are on the rise, and I've heard that adding garlic to your dog's diet is one way I can help minimize the risk of the "skeeters" biting my Lex.

1. Should I use fresh garlic, garlic powder, or one of the "specially formulated" garlic powder supplements designed for dogs?
2. How much garlic is too much garlic? I've heard you have to be careful because you can make your dog very sick (or worse) if you get carried away with the garlic.

Any other thoughts, suggestions,etc...???

Thank you,
Craig

·
Registered
16,649 Posts
I use Bug Off Garlic and follow the directions on the container. It definitely keeps off ticks but I haven't noticed that it makes the dogs less palatable to mosquitoes. I have been using it for 5 years, with 4 different dogs and have many friends who also use it. None of us have had problems with hepatic anemia. http://shop.robbinspetcare.com/dogs/azorganicneemdip.html

However, this product really does work: http://shop.robbinspetcare.com/dogs/azorganicneemspray.html

I was using it on myself this summer! They also make a shampoo/dip: http://shop.robbinspetcare.com/dogs/azorganicneemdip.html

·
Registered
10,225 Posts
Actually, garlic does work great for keeping off fleas. It took awhile to find our golden fix, but we were waiting on a LATE shipment of Frontline and the fleas were going nuts. I started heaping on Badia garlic powder (just grocery store stuff) in Renji's food, each meal, and after several days, the itching was subsiding and I was seeing less fleas with each day. Then the Frontline came and we rejoiced. Now we keep the garlic going but bugs are a thing of the past. I don't think the mosquitoes bother him at training, but the small, blood-draining helicopters do land on me instead.