German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! My beautiful Xena just had puppies a couple weeks ago, against all our efforts to keep her from doing so...last time she was in heat she BOOKED it out of our door when someone stopped by.

She, of course, got pregnant in literally the hour it took us to track her down. She apparently had someone in mind.

We have several Male(loose-we live in the country) German Shepherds in the area but I didn't think we'd get that lucky because there's many other types as well.

Well...every one of them sure look it, but I'm no expert. Is it too early to tell? I thought one would be a sure giveaway to the dad but all of them have the markings. Half black with brown markings, other like mama. Either way, I'd love to know. Thank you!

Attachments

·
Registered
8,283 Posts
Just so you are aware a litter can have more then one sire.
I hope momma and babies are all doing well, but at this age or really any age guessing about sires is just guessing. DNA testing will be your only option if you need to know but I cannot see it making much difference and you would need to test every pup. At this point they are just cute, pudgy little shepherd crosses.

·
Registered
32,588 Posts
It really doesn't matter if they are purebred. There are no papers with an unknown sire wihch makes them mixed. So you have to advertise them as such. Hope you are careful in placing them, with spay/neuter contracts.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
They are already placed with family and friends, we were lucky in that, and everyone knows they are mixed. Its more curiosity as well as I'm wanting a boy shepherd, so I may keep one if they are.

I didn't know they could have two fathers, so thank you for sharing !

·
Registered
3,332 Posts
If you keep a male, you should make sure you neuter him. If mom is THAT determined to have pups, the last thing you want is for her to be mating with her son!!