German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,003 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This will be a new one for me, on the 19th I will recieve my new foster puppy Ellsi 3 to 4 months old. She has been deaf all her life, I have never worked with a deaf pup before, so although I am excited to be given this opprotunity, I am also very nervous. Does anyone have any advice to share with me on this.

Wasn't sure where to put this so if it needs to be moved thats fine.

Heres a picture of her.
[/img]

·
Registered
567 Posts

·
Registered
346 Posts
Hand signals for EVERY comand! That's what I've been told. Congratulations on your new adventure! I know this will only make you a better, more experienced dog handler. It sounds like a challenge you are up for. Keep us posted! Sincerely, Christina (and Glory *woof*)

·
Registered
4,135 Posts
What a gorgeous baby! Thank you for taking in a 'special needs' pup!

·
Registered
1,593 Posts
Alos look into the vibration collars. Some are mode just for vibration and others are e-collars that have vibration modes. This should be equivalent to calling her name to get her attention. You buzz, and she looks for instructions. Whether it be a signal to come or to sit.

Such a sweet looking girl. You know we will want more pictures.

·
Registered
2,003 Posts
Discussion Starter #7