German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
852 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do you find time for all of them AND afford all of their expenses? Dogs can get quite expensive, so how do you balance a good job with animal care/ bonding? Just curious. I know this is kind of personal, so If you'd rather not answer that is okay.

·
Registered
4,782 Posts
when I had three dogs I made sure that I spent equal time with all three of them at some point during the day. this is a little easier for me because I'm a college student and only go to school twice a week. they all got walked seperatly. my mom makes sure she has at least $1,000 for each dog set aside incase something happens. it's easier now that I only have two dogs.

·
Banned
8,988 Posts
Honestly, the only reason why I manage to work all three of mine is because I have no job. If I had a job there wouldn't be enough time to do what I am doing with them.

With all the years of experience and how my parents managed the breeding program I have come to the conclusion that if you have more than three dogs and are completely alone in, plus working a full-time job... one or two dogs will always be there that don't get the same attention the others do. They will be left out.

As for expenses, yes it does get expensive. I have a savings account for the dogs that in case of an emergency we have money to take them to the vet, or simply pay for all their shots, de-worming, one year supply of heart-worms that'll come up etc. etc. etc.

·
Registered
508 Posts