German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here with questions!

Can someone out there give me a crash course in Perianal Fistulas in German Shepherd Dogs? My 10-year old boy was just diagnosed with them and I want to help him "recover" as painlessly as possible ...

He's been on 100MG Cyclosporine for about 40 days now.

·
Registered
3,266 Posts
Why didn't the vet add in ketoconazole? ketoconazole helps lower the dosage needed for cyclosporine because keto helps increase absorption of the cyclosporine thereby helping with adverse symptoms associated with cyclo alone at higher doses. Also helps with cost as cyclo costs significantly more than keto and the combined therapy is most optimal in terms of price/efficacy (current research)

Lifestyle and diet modifications:
http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/health-issues/250393-perinal-anal-fistula-enzymes-probiotics-how-keep-dry-2.html#post3292145

How bad are they? How are his stools?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Not sure why she didn't prescribe Keto ... maybe because this isn't something she's been experienced with (fistulas)? I can call and ask her.

Any suggestions on dosage?

No issues with the Cyclosporine thus far. Stools are regular and solid. Licking has reduced drastically since treatment started.

The fistulas first came to my attention when I returned home from work one day to a "crime scene" of blood smeared all over the floor. Even with this, Koa was nonchalant and otherwise unaffected. He used to lick at himself quite a lot, but I was a bad owner and didn't realize this wasn't normal ...

I'm just wondering if there are OTHER things I can be doing to help the healing and reduce any discomfort (although, he doesn't display any discomfort). I've seen so many different things here regarding diet change, applying topical treatments such as Desitin and such ... but my vet hasn't mentioned anything like this yet.

·
Registered
3,266 Posts