German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it ok to give fish oil bought from a health food store. My shepherd was given fish oil from the vet but it is very expensive. i checked the label and it comparable to the ones at health food store just ddin't know if anyone knew if there might be a difference thats not on the label.

·
Registered
10,132 Posts
Yes, it's the same stuff.

Actually, I'll let you in on a secret: I'm a personal trainer and recommend all my clients take fish oil because if its many benefits. However, I steer them away from the expensive ones sold in the gym store and just tell them to go to Costco or Walgreens or Wal-Mart or whatever and get the one that has the most EPA + DHA per capsule. The EPA and DHA are the "good stuff" we're trying to get out of fish oil in the first place.

·
Registered
3,008 Posts
Yes it is quite okay, if not better, to get a fish oil marketed for humans. But since supplements aren't regulated and fish oil has such a high possibility for contamination I would only buy it from a company that tests it products for potency and purity. I want it to be affordable also so I chose Carlsons salmon oil. I get it from vitacost as they seem to be well priced,

Carlson Norwegian Salmon Oil -- 180 Softgels + 50 Softgels Free - Vitacost

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
I'm giving Joey Nordic Naturals for dogs, but it's expensive.

I'd like to give him something comparable in a human-grade Omega 3.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. He's 6 years old and weighs 77 pounds.

·
Registered
6,117 Posts
I get my fish oil in a big bottle from Costco, I think it's about $10 for 400 capsules. I take it myself and give it to the dogs. I don't know how they get away with charging so much for pet-grade fish oil at the vet!

·
Banned
2,306 Posts
yep! I buy my dogs fish oil from Walgreens. They offer buy one get one free deals regularly.