German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:happyboogie: Woohoo! Just got my armband number in the mail yesterday for Piper and my first Rally competition. We're going Novice A since I've never done this before either... in fact she's my first dog too! I'm super excited and we've been working on our signs over the past few weeks to brush up on things.

Since this is our first trial we're doing it at our home training school but I know the environment will be very different than class days. Any recommendations on helping her deal with the busy-ness of so many dogs around? Any suggestions on anything else for a newbie? I learned early on that I have to keep my adrenaline down around her, so I'll be working hard to not be nervous ;)

Thanks!

·
Registered
673 Posts
Don't do what a lot of people do......drag their dogs around for HOURS before they go in the ring. By the time they get into the ring they have no dog left!

When you first get to the show, leave your dog in the car and bring your crate and chair in. You need the crate so you have some place to leave your dog during the walk-thru! Bring a water dish, a favorite toy, and whatever is part of your normal training day. Find a space and set up, then take a walk around to get the lay of the land. Find your ring, and if they're giving out numbers pick yours up.

Get your dog out of the car, give her a pee break, and take her into the show and take a nice walk around. Not serious training, just a nice walk. Maybe do a couple of puppy pushups. Give her a nice rub down. Come up with some kind of game that you can play with her that doesn't disrupt the other dogs. Put her in her crate and let her chill for a while. If she's not used to being crated at class, sit in your chair for a while so she doesn't worry that you're leaving her. But DO walk away after a while, briefly at first, to give her a chance to get used to that.