German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So sage is 9.5 months old and started her first heat cycle today. I've got a reusable diaper on her with Maxi pad in it. But I'm completely new to this and can use any hints tips or advice you guys have as well as what to look out for.
Any help is appreciated....thanks!

·
Registered
100 Posts
Keep her supervised at all times outdoors, even if your yard seems secure. Also just be cautious opening your doors, I had a friend who's we'll behaved girl became a sneaky girl who tired to bolt out of the blue. Otherwise keep her clean and if you crate, let her go naked in it vs diapered.

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
Fiona was very clean. She cleaned herself a lot. Make sure there is plenty of fresh water. Change daily. I laid down sheets in the living room and let Fiona go naked while in the house. Wore the bloomers when we went out to keep the boys at bay.

She might eat less. Fiona did.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

·
Registered
1,551 Posts
I always have to laugh when i hear people using nappies on a dog in heat.

I found that there wasn't much blood any ways.

Mark down on a calender the first date you noticed blood. You will notice the blood becoming more clear as the days go by. 10 - 12 days later, when the blood clears to straw color is when the dog ovulates and this is most fertile time for the dog.(before and after this time the female can get pregnant) Male dogs will be queing up at your house at this time and the female will be more frisky. This will go on for a few days (3-7 days) and then the hormones will pass and the dog calms down again. There may be a return of blood towards the end of the cycle too.