German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I'd like your advice on and thoughts on finding a Shepherd-friendly house to rent. This summer, I will be moving to the DC metropolitan area. So, could be DC, could be Virginia, could be Maryland -- all depends on where I find a job. In any of these cases, I would be definitely be looking to rent a house and not an apartment. I really want a yard, even if it is small.

My Shepherd is a 1 year old female, named Eva. Ever since she was a puppy, I brought her everywhere with me -- she is great with people.

I am worried about the process of renting a house, though. Will landlords refuse to rent to me because of Eva? How difficult will it be to find something? What can I do to make it easier?

I am a high school science teacher, 36 years old, don't drink or smoke....

Thoughts?

·
Registered
9,602 Posts
I would write up a 'resume' on her and include any training she's had, get the vet, groomer, whoever, to write letters of recommendation about her and you as a responsible owner. We used to move every two years and always rented so I had previous landlords write letters that the dog didn't destroy anything. Include the cutest pictures you have of her in all kinds of situations. Maybe have her temperament evaluated by a trainer and include that too. We usually rented privately rather than through rental agencies because many have 'no large breed' or outdoor only dog policies.

·
Registered
1,968 Posts