Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

My wife and I recently had to put down our 12 year old GSD, and we're starting the learning/research process on identifying a solid breeder for when we're ready to bring home another furry friend.

I bought Jiggs, our last GSD from a lady who bred her dogs in a one time litter. Both parents were PB, but the mother was never registered. I knew nothing of blood lines at the time, and based on what I'm reading, I really lucked out - as she was a fantastic dog. From what I can gather, she was a working line, probably Western - but I am by no means an expert. My profile has a public album if you care to correct me. We'd like to stay in the same line. We've talked about how far we'd like to take this dog in training, but we're unsure at this particular time. All in all we'd just like a well rounded GSD again, with the intelligence and loyalty you'd expect in these dogs.

We've recently emailed a few breeders near by, but wading through all the terminology and credentials is mind boggling.

We've got a few price lines, and a few details, and we're a little unsure if they are normal/average, or abnormal for reputable breeders. Some want to talk/visit, some want credit cards up front -- and the latter doesn't sit well.

I won't state which breeder said what, as I'm not here to start anything, but these are few items that we've been told:

1) Breeders pick dogs for you, buyer has no choice besides gender/color.
2) Any breeder selling a "companion" is just getting rid of left overs.
3) Our dogs are 100% German bloodlines, so no health issues. (When asked about OVC/DM/etc).

While #1 seems like it's reasonable (not sure I like it), #2 seems like rubbish (but does it coincide with #1?), and #3, well I've already crossed her off the list.