German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 4 yr old nm gsd. About 2 weeks ago I noticed weight loss, did blood work and it looked fine so I increased food intake. 4 days ago I weighed him again and he is now down 10 lbs!! I did more blood work and it was seemingly fine again but the dr said with a slight albumin decrease and weight loss she really thinks it could be epi. My next step is to send more blood to test for it. I'm very new to this and a bit overwhelmed by all the info from researching. I was told to send bw to texas a and m, but there are at home tests too? What steps should I be taking to help him until tests are done? I feel like hes wasting away. Hes perfectly normal besides the weight loss, he is a poorly bred dog, severe allergies, weak hips, downed pasterns, duck footed and now this, I feel so bad for him. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
868 Posts
I'm so sorry you and your dog are going through this....I've (thankfully) never dealt with it.....HOWEVER based on your post....if I was in your shoes...I'd get a second opinion from another Vet---IMO blood work testing and/or sending blood out for testing should all be handled by your Vet or Vet's office.....the Vet then makes a diagnosis and contacts you with a treatment plan......at least that's how the Vet I see would handle it.

·
Registered
856 Posts