German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not sure how to handle my current situation. I've been feeding my dog fromm chicken for about the last 6 months with no issues and then about a week and half ago, after slacking on brushing his teeth for a while, I brushed his teeth a couple days in a row until I noticed that he started have a little bit of diarrhea. I stopped brushing his teeth and his poop firmed up for the most part with a little diarrhea randomly, but now he's not eating as much and he's much less interested in his food. Hes never been food motivated really. He's been drinking water and eating his whole breakfast but he usually only takes a couple bites of his dinner now. I have added some chicken or egg in here and there recently and that does motivate him to eat his food. His energy level has been fine but today he actually threw up a little of a white foamy substance. Anyone have any recommendations, should I change his food, or should I just take him to the vet? Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
624 Posts
If your dog hasn't eaten in 48 hours, take him to the vet.

And get a distemper vaccine shot while you're there.

My idiot vet didn't advise me to get one while I still could do it in time.

We thought at the time it was a stomach bug my dog would get over but it turned out to be distemper that killed her.

Get him vaccinated right away and then start whatever treatments the vet might prescribe.

You want to be aggressively proactive to protect your dog! I found to my lasting regret, how easy it can be to lose them!

Go to the vet as soon as you can - take it from me.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
He hasn't gone 48 hours with out eating or even 24 hrs really. His energy has been good and he's been drinking water pretty good.

·
Registered
624 Posts
He hasn't gone 48 hours with out eating or even 24 hrs really. His energy has been good and he's been drinking water pretty good.