German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

First: Can't believe I've been a member here since 2004; I graduated high school that year! And now I'm married? And starting a career? Man. All I can say is, I shudder to think of what-all posts I must have made almost a decade ago - ugh, teenagers. Glad that’s over.

So, my husband and I are looking to add a GSD pup in the next 2-3 years. We currently live in Houston, but will be returning to the Northeast in ~3-years time and are looking for a breeder from VA up. Like, all the way up. Maine would be totally fine.

Number-one criterion is physical health and fitness. I'm a hiker and need a dog who can handle a three-day trek through The Whites, scrambles and all, while carrying some of their own food/water. I have doubts about finding a GSD that can do this and not break down - please prove me wrong. And it’s why I’m wondering about SAR lines? Over-long or heavy dogs need not apply.

I also lost my last Shepherd to cancer at 5; I'd like to stack the odds against that repeating.

My number-two criterion is temperament. While future GSD will need to learn house obedience and trail rules, I will not be doing Schutzhund. Agility is possible, but don't bank on it. There will however be lots of games, silly dog tricks, good manners, and general involvement in the day-to-day. Plus aforementioned backpacking.

Also, not sure this needs to be said: solid nerve is paramount. Last Shepherd would bark for several minutes non-stop when people came to the door, even after they entered the house. It might have looked "protective," but it wasn't. It was just noise.