German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6,073 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thought I would share. I have no experience with this but know there are alot of itchy GSD!

Welcome to Nutriscan - Dog Food Sensitivity Kit

Does your dog have itchy skin or an irritable bowel?
Do you suspect your dog has a food intolerance?

Food intolerance or sensitivity is actually quite common whereas food allergy is rare. In fact, food intolerance is the third most common sensitivity condition in dogs and often can be easily remedied with a change in diet. For years, though, the difficulty lay in figuring out what foods were problematic – until now.

Developed by world renowned veterinarian, Dr. Jean Dodds, NutriScan tests for the twenty most commonly ingested foods by dogs to provide you with specific results as to your dog's food intolerances or sensitivities. Since it is a salivary test, you have the convenience to complete the test at home or at your veterinarian’s office. Best of all, you can have the results in approximately two weeks to help you put your dog on the right diet.

Please remember, NutriScan is novel and patented and is not testing for food allergies, but rather tests for food sensitivities and intolerance. These are different body immune responses. Food allergy is a more immediate reaction mediated by production of IgE and IgG antibodies. Food sensitivity and intolerance, by contrast, measures a more delayed body response to offending foods by measuring production of IgA and IgM antibodies primarily in mucosal secretions from the bowel.

Dr. Dodds recommends that dogs are tested annually as – similar to humans – canine food tolerances and intolerances change over time.

·
Registered
5,439 Posts
Good info Courtney:)

I think this should be a sticky;)

·
Premium Member
4,821 Posts
I suggested a friend get the Nutri-Scan done on her GSD. She had gone thru many foods looking for the right one to no avail.