German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello my names Alex I have had many animals since I was little from birds to having a Siberian Husky and a Golden Retriver. Unfortenatly I have not been able to have any pets lately but I do dog sit on a regular basis and volunteer at a dog park. I wanted to get a GSD since I have had a lot of experience with them and love the kind of dog they are, but because of my work and shcool schedual Im gone a lot and do not want to leave him alone all day. So I was wondering does anyone use doggie day care and what do they think of it? Are there other alternatives? Are there any jobs out there that would allow you to take your dog to work on a regular basis? Thanks for the information, this seems to be a great forum!

·
Registered
801 Posts
I use doggie day care about 2 days a week (gives my arm a rest from throwing balls for 2 hours every day). Wolfie gets very excited about day care. He knows the second we turn into the road that leads to the place, even though we are still a couple of miles away. He will start squeaking excitedly and can't wait to go play with his friends. He has been going since he was about 5 months. Tired pup at the end of the day. Great socializing experience too.

You do need to check out the daycare facility though. Do they give you a tour of the facilities? Are they clean? What kind of security system do they have? What is the level of supervision during playtime? Ask your vet for referrals. That's how I found out about our place. If the daycare also does boarding, that's a big bonus because he's already familiar with the employees, the other dogs and the facility. IMHO, the biggest indicator is your dog's reaction. Is he excited to go in after the initial visit? What's his body language once you get to the place?

·
Registered
434 Posts