German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5,312 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to help someone train a Shih Tzu puppy long distance that has almost no drive at all. She isn’t food or toy motivated, but I saw a video of her following the owner, with a lot of praise. I was told that extreme praise is not a good idea, and that praise as a reward should be calm and positive but not squealy and over the top because the dog will eventually stop responding. I suggested they only train with food when the puppy is hungry. I also said to try a flirt pole, but wasn’t able to explain how to use it in a way they understood.. I’m not close enough for hands on training. How can a dog not be motivated by anything? They want to train her but don’t know how or where and I have no experience with tiny dogs. Can anyone help?

·
Super Moderator
6,292 Posts
Train it to do what?Little lap dog puppies are easier to work with if you get down on the floor with them.They can follow your hands and read your facial expressions more easily.

·
Registered
5,312 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I’m not sure. Maybe sit, walk on a leash, lie down, place. It’s a very tiny one, not going to be over 10 lbs.

·
Registered
5,686 Posts