German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
LOl Valor is doing great. I keep walking diagonally. Dog is straight as a board to ME..but since I keep walking not straight, when we do sit or platz in motion he LOOKS crooked as far as field angles..but that is because I'm heading for a corner.

I have several advanced martial arts belts, I have competed in Grappler's Quest, I am a firearms instructor and can run, take cover, clear a shoot house, dead accurately.

I can't walk straight with a dog across a field lol HUH?!?!?

I think, but would love to hear other ideas, that I am worrying about glancing down at him too much. I don't do it on sidewalks obviously lol..just fields. Even in the park, the K9 handler friend who is mentoring me is constantly saying " the tree, just walk towards the tree..MY GOD the TREE"

Anyway, he is doing great. BH will be a breeze in the fall. We just transitioned to having tug in my right hand out of sight and jackpot rewards. So he doesn't look at the tug. His eye contact with me is really improving. He has the BH pattern down, so we are working on breaking it down into bits, increasing speed on his sit and platz commands. Keeping it fun.

Bite work, this will be his wheelhouse. He LOVES it. Just starting tracking. Should have a BH on him by December.

This is us, and this is fun :)

Attachments

·
Registered
2,114 Posts
I love that picture. To me it portrays a powerful team.

This might be a suggestion you can use to help you walk in straight line. Snap a line from one point to another (builders term where you tie a string from both points low to the ground) ankle height will do. Then straddle the line and walk. You will feel the line hitting your ankle if you veer off. Eventually, your eye and your legs should adjust accordingly on their own with out the line.