German Shepherds Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to buy my first german shepherd puppy and have messaged a few breeders. I finally got a response from one of them in Michigan, Tower Farms German Shepherd Dogs. I was only able to find one of the parents OFA score, he scored excellent for hips but I don't think her other dog was OFA tested. I am new to all of this, is there anything else I should be looking for. I asked about temperament and was told training plays an big role with that.
I also came across another breeder, Anita Clouse, from Illinois, but her dog scored fair for hips. How important are these scores?
I found both on Marketplace.akc.org

·
Premium Member
18,687 Posts
I would want to know the hips cores on both parents (OFA, 'a' stamp from Germany or other European scores, Pennhip)/ Fair is still passing. When breeding we look at the depth and breadth of pedigree so a fair from a litter of a bunch of goods and excellent or normal and from a long line of goods/excellents/normals would not worry me much where as an excellent from a litter of not passing or a pedigree that is missing a lot of ratings would.

Temperament is genetics influenced by training. You might be able to help a dog with a bad temperament or weak nerves function in life they will never be as strong or reliable as a dog born with very good or excellent temperament and nerves.

I have heard of neither breeder.

In MI, you should check out Wildhaus kennels.
(Wildhaus Kennels, Working German Shepherd Breeder in Michigan)

or

Aus Gerstbrei
https://www.facebook.com/gerstbrei/

I know both of their dogs well and both trial, temperament and health test their dogs.

·
Registered
723 Posts
A person advertising in the AKC Marketplace may or may not be a good breeder. The only requirement to advertise there is that they not have their AKC privileges suspended or revoked.