German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I lost my 13 -year-old male to DM so of course testing is something that is crucial for me when selecting a breeder. I had one answer me “After doing research I found that the tests are not accurate enough for me to rely on . I have been breeding for 18 years and never had it come up in my lineage” can this be true and DM testing not reliable ?

·
Premium Member
11,234 Posts
no test is 100% perfect....

I have never had it in my litters either....but I test because it is a foundation to build on, and as it is fairly recent, every dog tested and then progeny tested builds an informational base for the future....

all my dogs I use for breeding have tested clear so far....I know there were 2 carriers whose littermates are clear

It is somethign people seem to be afraid of...

Like one person interested in a breeding to my male commented when I said his sire was over 15 when he passed naturally, his dam over 14........"why would anyone want them to live that long? what do you do with them???" I was appalled.

Lee

·
Registered
868 Posts
As far as I know the DNA tests are reliable...showing...whether or not the dog actually has the disease OR whether or not the gene is carried which with breeding would create pups with DM... a disease that will only "show" later in life.....I too had a dog with DM....it still hurts....so it would be VERY important to me also....I'm nobodies expert in DNA... but I know WAY to much about DM.....since many breeders do test for DM...if I was in your shoes....I'd find one of those to make my pup/young dog choice from

·
Registered
382 Posts
DM testing for german shepherds is like Ichthyosis testing in Golden retrievers, it will tell you who is the carrier or effected so you can breed it out of the line. I had a breeder tell me the exact same thing melissa i did not go with her because i also lost a GSD to DM.

·
Super Moderator
32,283 Posts