German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All, I'm looking for some recommendations on what to expect in this next year. My boy is a DDR dog who just turned a year old. It has been one heck of a year. I feel like we've just sailed through a hurricane and finally come out in one piece, if missing a few bits of sanity, LOL. I am new to working dogs, DDR dogs and dogs in general and frankly, probably bit off more than I could chew with this dog. But, here we are, still alive, and within just the last few weeks since turning one he seems to have magically turned into a calmer dog. His obedience has also really turned up a notch - it's like he suddenly got more focused, more calm and more aware of what's going on around him. It's absolutely glorious. :grin2:

But along with that he's developed some seriousness. Or is seriousness the right word? He has previously loved every person he's met (except for other dogs.) Over the past couple of months he's been slowly becoming more suspicious of certain things though, particularly people. He started with alerting/barking at random night sounds, then progressed to becoming reactive when startled - if one of us comes to bed late he gets in our face, if we come into the yard without announcing ourselves he gets defensive and the other day we had a friend come over and he became defensive when we let the friend in through the front door. He also got aggressive with the vet recently and he seems to be getting more suspicious of people on walks. He barks, growls and the hackles come up. For a couple of days earlier this week he would react (come out into the hall and bark, growl) any time one of us came in through the garage or front door, but he seems to have worked out that he needs to look and see who it is before he gets cranky.