German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had posted about a year or two ago looking for suggestions for breeders. I was in the middle of some life moves, and didn't think it would be the right time. Things are all in order now.. and i'm ready to pick up my first German Shepherd pup this summer. I've been in touch with a few breeders, and am looking for some more suggestions if possible.

A little background first, single male, home owner, no children, medium yard. I've owned a number of dogs in the past, including my latest, an akita. I have some history in training dogs, but nothing competitive.

I am a law enforcement officer who fell in love with the drive and spirit of our K9 dogs, whom are ddr dogs.

1) This is a companion dog first. I'm a very outdoorsy / adventurous person. I've got bikes and gear and an SUV and I like to explore. Myself (like many people I imagine) are looking for a k9 partner. He would also need to "turn off" so to speak, at home.

2) First and foremost the dog must have no social aggression. Must not be a risk around children or other animals. I'd like to be able to take him to a dog park without issue. Temperament is key.

3) I intend to train the dog and socialize it immensely. I will be enrolling in multiple classes for obedience and protection and whatever else strikes my fancy. This is not because I intend to compete with the dog, but to make it a nice well rounded dog, and to help bond with it. So i'd need a dog with the drive to participate.

4) I know people don't necessarily agree with this, but it's how I feel - i want a dark sable male. Majority of DDR dogs look like this, so it's not a big deal, but just putting that out there.

I've looked up a number of breeders. True Haus is just about perfect for what i'm looking for, however both of their litters are already reserved. I'm looking for any suggestions / people I can speak to, or even insight.

Thank you!

·
Registered