German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, for some reason I couldn't post this in the Welcome to the GSD/FAQ's for the First Time Owner section.

I'm considering adopting a rescue GSD or Malinois in the near future, ideally a retired military working dog after I PCS to Hawaii later this year. I've heard of rescue programs that do adopt military working dogs that have retired. And as an Army officer myself I'd certainly like to give a dog that's given his country some years of service a nice home.

I've got experience dealing with the latter breed (my family in Florida shares its home with a Maligator) and know that Mals are said to be 'hot blooded' and reactive compared to the GSD. Some I've talked to mentioned GSDs tend not to be as 'quick to bite' as Mals can be.

Because of their thicker coats I assume GSDs are a little less heat tolerant than Malinois? I intend my future pet to live indoors with me, of course, but given that I'll be living in Hawaii heat and humidity are things I'll need to keep in mind when the pair of us are out and about.

Any other big differences between Malinois and GSD I should be aware of should I wind up adopting the latter breed in a few months?

·
Registered
234 Posts
Well, I've only fostered a 1/2 Mal, though he had most of the Mal behaviors. I've known a couple Mals and they were very much like Brunson, our temp Mal.

Our Mal was far more independent than my GSD. My ten month old GSD boy is very attached to me and often likes to lie on the couch with his head in my lap or, barring that, on the floor by me with his head on my foot. Our Mal at the same age was more apt to be doing his own thing nearby.

Also the GSD is more vocal. Jaeger has a huge vocabulary of whines, moans, groans, and barks and he likes to share his feelings, lol. Our Mal was much quieter.