German Shepherds Forum banner

1 - 20 of 523 Posts

·
Registered
847 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't know if this is the right place to start this topic. This is my first time starting a thread. So mods, move it to the right section if I did this wrong.

A lot of people are stocking up on supplies. I watch a lot of business news (CNBC and Fox Business). A couple days ago, it was mentioned that people should stock up on some medications for their pets. At least 3 drug companies/pharmas have a shortage of inventory due to the corona virus. There are ingredients in a lot of drug medications that come from China. If your dog is on somewhat long term medication, I would find out soon if your dog's drugs are on that list and if it is, stock up.

·
Registered
348 Posts
Thanks tc68 for starting this thread. Dog folks also need to decide how much "socializing" they will continue doing with
their dogs since the dog in China was found to be carrying the virus.
Some areas are not getting the news just yet because their area hasn't been deemed a 'hot spot' for the virus.
Some scientists are saying there are probably 1,000 or more people walking around with the virus who haven't been tested yet. For older persons or anyone with underlying health problems any group get togethers may need to be curtailed. The c. virus could be around for several months since not much is being done to stop it or contain it.

·
Super Moderator
4,682 Posts
while we were all thinking about masks and hand soap, it is was far too easy to over look the fact that many medicines , prescription and over the counter, are made in China. If a factory has to be closed from being short staffed or transportation becomes stalled, we could see shortages here. Thanks for the reminder that this might include dog meds.

·
Registered
31,145 Posts
I'm shocked that people are just now discovering hand washing etiquette.